Translate

November 6, 2015

UPCOMING: Open Enrollment: How the Affordable Care Act Can Help Patients Experiencing Domestic and Interpersonal Violence

Date: Thursday, November 19th, 2015

Time: 2:00pm-3:30pm EST, 1:00pm-2:30pm CT, 12:00am-1:30pm MT, 11:00am-12:30pm PDT

Register Now! http://futureswithoutviolence.adobeconnect.com/e224j2nte49/event/registration.html

Did you know:

1 Open Enrollment is now! November 1st, 2015 – January 31st, 2016.

2 Survivors of domestic violence (DV) can now apply for and enroll in health insurance coverage through the federal Marketplace (healthcare.gov) at any time during the year? They do not need to wait for Open Enrollment to begin. This Special Enrollment Period (SEP) is available to anyone who has experienced DV.

3 There are many health insurance options—and significant financial help is available?

4 Screening and counseling for domestic violence are now covered benefits as a result of the Affordable Care Act?

5 There are regulations that clarify how married victims of domestic violence and their dependents can qualify for financial help when they apply for health insurance or apply for a hardship exemption if needed?

Join this webinar to hear key steps and strategies for how to help clients enroll in healthcare and understand the domestic violence provisions in the Affordable Care Act!

This webinar will provide a basic overview of the coverage requirements in the Affordable Care Act and the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force’s “B” recommendation for screening and intervention for domestic violence (DV). Speakers will discuss who will be able to access these services, what is required in terms of screening and brief counseling, and refer to tools on addressing domestic violence safely and effectively as well as billing for these services. They will also discuss the IRS regulations on financial aid for domestic violence as well as information about how survivors can access a “hardship” exemption to avoid paying penalties if they are not able to enroll this year.

Speakers:

Lena O’Rourke, O’Rourke Health Policy Strategies

Kate Vander Tuig, Futures Without Violence

This webinar is being co-sponsored by Futures Without Violence’s National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence and the Family Violence Prevention & Services Program, Family & Youth Services Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, and the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Questions? Contact Kate Vander Tuig at kvandertuig@futureswithoutviolence.org

No comments: